Professors of Sharif University of Technology Honored at the 32nd International Khwarizmi Award

The Closing Ceremony of the 32nd International Khwarizmi Award, attended by the vice President for Science and Technology and the Minister of Science, Research and Technology was held on March 5, 2019 at Iran International Conference Center.

Parviz Davami, Professor Emeritus of the Department of Materials Science and Engineering of Sharif University of Technology, was honored for his invaluable contribution in theoretical and applied development of Materials Engineering and Metallurgy in Iran.

The research work of Dr. Mohammad Reza Pakravan from the Electrical Engineering Faculty of SUT on “Commercialization of SDH Optical Transmission Systems” and Dr. Mohammad Durali’s work, “Design and Manufacturing Power Plant Governors” was announced respectively the best work in enriching national production and the best developmental work for their valuable contribution towards enhancing the sustainable development of the country.

Dr. Azadeh Kebriaee, the young faculty member of Aerospace Department, occupied the second rank in the category of Applied Research in Mechatronics for her work on UV-visible spectroscopy of fluid and fine particles. She has also won the WIPO Medal for Inventors, launched to recognize the contribution of inventors to national wealth and development.

During the course, 271 national and 111 foreign research works from 40 countries were submitted from which 10 national and 6 foreign works were selected. The international category includes laureates from China, Greece, Switzerland, UK and US. This is the first time in the history of IKA that 4 researchers from one university have managed to won the award in a course.

The fields of participation in various categories of applied research, fundamental research, research and development, and invention and innovation included aerospace, civil engineering, materials and metallurgy, agriculture, natural resources, animal sciences and veterinary medicine, electrical and computer, mechanics, basic sciences, green technology, mechatronics, biotechnology and basic medical sciences, industry and technology management, medical sciences, chemical technology, information technology and nanotechnology.

The award was established in 1987 by the leading Iranian Research Organization for Science and Technology (IROST), affiliated to the Ministry of Science, Research and Technology, decided to acknowledging the outstanding achievements in the field of Science and Technology.

Please Share this: